Flitting With the Hobbyist – All Things Bright and Colourful

Posted on 02/06/2011

6


Hi! Welcome to my first Flitting with the Hobbyist post.

Like all crafters I love the materials I work with and buying extra for my stash just gives me a high that can’t be beat. Given that
the first day of summer is so close I decided that my stash and I needed more colour. Never one for half measures I decided to go for the brightest and most attractive colours I could find- but I also wanted more than colour. I wanted to work with a material that said ‘SUMMER’ in a big way.

Abalone Hearts (10mm approx) Fushia and Purple Disks (20mm) Aqua Shell Hearts (14mm)

You can imagine my delight when I found these beautiful shell disks and hearts from one of my favourite suppliers Blue Streak Beads. Add some of the gorgeous Hematite puff hearts and I think I have enough inspiration to keep me going for a while.

Hematite Hearts (12mm)

Like many of you when you have a new addition to your stash- whether its beads, dye, yarn or wood – I just couldn’t wait to get going and hours after receiving them (yesterday – yeesh)I got creative –

Purple Cats Eyes, Hematite Hearts, Aqua Hearts, Sterling Silver, MASSIVE Abalone shell drops

Adding sterling silver from my stash and some gorgeous Abalone drops that I already have I had great fun with my pliers and bead board.  I’m sure you will agree they are a bit of a departure from what is already in my shop in terms of material and brightness, but I have to tell you they are incredibly striking. Why don’t you pop over and have a look. Let me know what you think.

Talking of inspiration many of you may already know I can’t resist a bargain so I hopped straight onto the website of my absolutely favourite bead supplier Beads Direct when I found out about their £1.50 bead bonanza with selected bead strands selling for – well £1.50. – (Hurry offer ends tonight at midnight!)

 I found these gorgeous Glass shells and swirly red hearts – perfect for my bright, beach summer and shell
theme I’ve got going on.

I’ve tried to show the iridescence here to its best advantage but they really do have to be seen to be believed and at only £1.50 a pop I think I’ve bagged a bargain.That said I found myself in quandary when I sauntered over to the Mystery Hamper Summer addition. With their promises of strings of Semi -Precious, glass and seed beads as well as loads of findings and other glorious things worth over £50.00 with one of the Bead Direct storage boxes thrown in free for only £29.99 how could I resist?

I had to make some brave decisions to get rid of some of the beads in my ‘basket’ to stay within budget and  I was so worried I was going to be disappointed but I am absolutely astounded – in a good way – with the contents of the box. I won’t reveal what’s in it – that would spoil it for BD and those brave enough to venture into Mystery Hamper buying but boy it’s worth the price. Both the stores mentioned deliver quickly and if you have room in your stash and budget I would recommend a quick visit.

My stash is now looking very healthy, with so much colour it looks like it’s been left in the sun to absorb the coming season.

I’m going to be messing with Memory Wire and other none precious metal findings this week along with my new toys. I haven’t used memory wire before so I’ll let you know how it goes next week.

What about you? Does your crafting change with the season? What colours are you using? Whatcha working on?

One final note – I think I’ve stumbled on the crafters perfect companion – enjoy!

