The Crafty Crafter – Philippa Harding: Court & Spark

Posted on 03/06/2011

2


I fell in love with the work of Philippa Harding when I was looking for a new purse. I don’t carry a lot of cash about but somehow always end up with loads of coins rattling around the bottom of my bag pockets. I found and immediately bought one of her fabulous coin purse and now check regularly to see what new products she has in her shop. Now with some fabulous cushions added to her extensive range I thought I would find out a bit more about this creative crafter and badgered her with a few questions.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Q:  Have you had any formal training?

A: Not really I did an art A-Level and then an Art Foundation which bizarrely took me on a career path into film production! I have always been drawn to colour and texture in my work but in terms of sewing I am pretty much self-taught.

Q:  What is your favourite piece at the moment?

A: I am having a lot of fun combining fabrics to create my coin purses at the moment – they seem to be proving popular. I also love my fabric flowers – they were my first ever product – and they are slowly starting to find an audience particularly from international buyers on Etsy.

Q:  Are you working on anything special?

A: I am in the process of developing some original fabric designs…

Q:  Should we be looking out for any new ranges?

A: I am a compulsive fabric buyer so there will always be something new arriving in my shop! I am also planning some more greetings cards as my Valentine’s selection did well for me.

Q: I love your cushions- is the material designed and printed by you?

A: Sadly not at the moment but it is my intention to have my own fabric designs in the near future. At the moment I rely on my eye and my taste to choose and combine fabrics in an inspiring way.

Q: What inspires you generally?

A: I am addicted to colour and pattern but also love simplicity and clean lines in design. I am inspired by art and objects and that evoke a sense of harmony, coherence and satisfaction when gazed upon.

Q:  What is your workshop/sewing room/crafty corner like?

A: Don’t ask! It’s basically the dining table and shelves in the back half of my sitting room!  It’s organised chaos – like most creatives I think. I began Court & Spark making Christmas decorations and my husband still likes to tell people that our sitting room looks like ‘Santa’s grotto’ (I guess that makes me an elf!) I am almost growing out of it so we are thinking of converting the room under our stairs as either a workroom or storage area for me.

Q:  Do you have any favourite Folksy crafters you would like to mention in Folksy Finds as an inspiration, Friend or just a  favourite/recommended shop?

A: I am a massive fan of Amanda Colville / Mangle Prints – I love everything she does! Her work ticks all my inspiration boxes. I think we started on Folksy at a similar time last year and found her incredibly supportive an encouraging.

As a customer as well as a fellow folksier I can definitely attest to the attractiveness, affordability and quality of the products from Court & Spark. Don’t just take my word for it, to get a better look at Phillipa’s work or ask her a question you can find her Folksy shop here and get updates on works in progress, fabulous photos and updates on her Facebook page here.

