Coming Up

Posted on 16/08/2011

3



Now that I’m back after a couple of weeks rest I’ve had time to think about what I would like to see on this blog and what other people have made requests for. So I thought I would do a little coming up feature with a request from suggestions from all you lovely crafters out there. As you know I’ve been really busy making tons of new stuff – Sneaky peak below – and now I’m getting a bit more serious about marketing my own stuff, I’ve come across loads of questions.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I know how difficult it is in the handmade marketplace to find information that we all need to ensure we are doing things right, there are loads of books and tips on how to do it in America, but I have yet to find anything that deals consisely with the British marketplace. Because of this I am launching a new spot on Tuesdays called The Handmade Market and will endeavour to answer a few of those nagging questions we all have but find it difficult to find a full answer to. When do I need to declare for tax purposes? What do I have to do to do that? Copywrite is a big one, Where do we stand on using famous images in our work? And just what exactly is a breach of copywrite? Even trickier – If I make something from instructions such as from a magazine, book or tutorial, can I legally sell it? Marketing – How best to promote? I’m also hoping to talk to some amazing artists and crafters about how they approach the business side of crafting and get some tips on things like photography, branding and presentation and maybe have a guest spot or two. Is there anything else you would like to see?

Flitting with the Hobbyist is of course back and I hope to look at crafts, trends, colour and anything that interests me. If there is anything you would like to see me try or find out more about why not let me know.

I’m very excited about The Crafty Crafter over the next six weeks and have some amazing people for all you lovers of the handmade out there. With Christmas only 18 weeks away – I know, I know… I think we all need a little bit of inspiration.

Today I’m launching the TBH bloghop in the hopes of inspiring all you crafters out there and I would love it is you would take part. The first Craft Hop is on the theme of Birds and how you choose to interpret that is up to you. It could be using images or found items like feathers, charms or simply interpretation. The Craft Hop will leave from here on 1 September and I hope to see loads of different interpretations and mediums, photography, mosaic, paintings, ACEOS, lampwork beads, fimo, lino prints, felt, fabric or jewellery, anything goes, but it must be handmade and your own design.

If you would like to take part please pop along to The Craft Blog page and leave your blog address in the comments section. I would love to be able to contact you about the hop when I’m ready to put it up to make sure everyone is ready so please do come along to the facebook page, join the forum thread on folksy or email me at thebutterflyhobbyist@gmail.com I also tweet @bflyhobbyist. I’m looking forward to meeting you all and seeing your fabulous creations.

Posted in: General